Vote closes for Try of the Year 2010

(IRB.COM) Tuesday 18 January 2011
 Vote closes for Try of the Year 2010
Jaque Fourie's try against the Lions was voted the 2009 winner

Voting for the IRPA Try of the Year 2010 has now closed.

For the second year in a row, the global Rugby family were able to vote online for their favourite from a shortlist of 18 superb tries from the RBS Six Nations, Tri Nations, Women's Rugby World Cup, Pacific Nations Cup and IRB Nations Cup as well as the June and November internationals.

The winning try will be announced shortly.

The shortlist was:

Try number 1: Shane Williams, Wales v France
Try number 2: Ben Foden, France v England
Try number 3: Shane Williams, Wales v Scotland
Try number 4: Dan Carter, New Zealand v Wales
Try number 5: Felipe Contepomi, Argentina v France
Try number 6: Gonzalo Tiesi, Argentina v Scotland
Try number 7: Mils Muliaina, Australia v New Zealand
Try number 8: Israel Dagg, New Zealand v South Africa
Try number 9: James O’Connor, South Africa v Australia
Try number 10: Danielle Waterman, England v USA
Try number 11: Cobie-Jane Morgan, Australia v Wales
Try number 12: Huriana Manuel, New Zealand v Australia
Try number 13: Chrysander Botha, Georgia v Namibia
Try number 14: Nikola Matawalu, Fiji v Japan
Try number 15: Juan Jose Imhoff, Argentina Jaguars v Italy A
Try number 16: Chris Ashton, England v Australia
Try number 17: James Hook, Wales v South Africa
Try number 18: Adam Ashley-Cooper, New Zealand v Australia

IRPA representatives narrowed the field from 230 tries to 18 for the final selection. New Zealand’s men and women players have five tries in the shortlist, with Australia, England and Wales all represented three times.
IRB Player of the Year 2008 Shane Williams is the only player to have two tries featured in the shortlist, for the second year running. Three tries are also included from Women’s Rugby World Cup 2010 with England’s Danielle Waterman, Australia’s Cobie-Jane Morgan and New Zealand’s Huriana Manuel all touching down.