Since its inception in 2001, the IRB Awards has become a highlight of the international rugby calendar. It is an occasion at which the IRB recognises and celebrates the achievements of those involved at the highest level of the world game on the field, as well as recognising the dedication and commitment given by those who work on a voluntary basis away from the field, and without whose labours the game would not survive.

IRB Award categories:

IRB Player of the Year
IRB Team of the Year
IRB Coach of the Year
IRPA Try of the Year
IRB Junior Player of the Year
IRB Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC
IRB Women's Player of the Year
IRB Women's Sevens Player of the Year
IRB Development Award
The Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service
Referee Award for Distinguished Service
Spirit of Rugby Award
IRPA Special Merit Awards

The IRB Award ceremonies have been held in various locations around the world, reflecting the global interest in the Game:

2001    London, United Kingdom - Mayfair Theatre
2002    London United Kingdom - Landmark Hotel
2003    Sydney, Australia - Wharf 8
2004    London, United Kingdom - Royal Lancaster Hotel
2005    Paris, France - Pavillon d’Armenonville
2006    Glasgow, Scotland - Kelvingrove Museum and Art Gallery
2007    Paris, France - Pavillon d’Armenonville
2008    London, United Kingdom - Old Billingsgate
2011    Auckland, New Zealand - Vector Arena