Hosts Italy step up preparations for JWC 2011

(IRB.COM) Thursday 14 April 2011
 Hosts Italy step up preparations for JWC 2011
Luca Morisi helped Italy win the Trophy and return to the Junior World Championship stage by right, not just as hosts

Five members of Italy's victorious IRB Junior World Rugby Trophy 2010 side have been named in a 38-strong squad for a training camp in Tirrenia next week as the Azzurrini step up preparations for hosting the IRB Junior World Championship in June.

New captain Piermaria Leso, Giovanni Alberghini, Marco Fuser, Luca Morisi and Guglielmo Palazzani will hope to add their experience to the Italian Under 20 squad on their return to the IRB Junior World Championship stage.

Italy improved throughout the recent RBS Under 20 Six Nations and finished strongly with a narrow win over Scotland, but know they will face a stiff challenge against three-time defending champions New Zealand, Argentina and Wales in Pool A.

"A 38-man squad underlines a good depth ahead of the next JWC and shows how the team has grown in the last few months," explained coach Andrea Cavinato. "We improved game by game in the Six Nations and we've beaten Scotland away.

"Now we're focusing on the JWC which is the most important moment in our season. We've already identified 16 to 18 guys who will definitely be part of the team, but all the 38 selected players can compete for a spot in the final 26-man squad."

The camp takes place the the Olympic training centre in Tirrenia from 18-22 April with Cavinato revealing the final day will see a Probables v Possibles match when "everybody will have a chance to win a ticket to the JWC."

Italy squad for training camp:

Giovanni Alberghini (HBS GranDucato Parma), Andrea Balsemin (HBS GranDucato Parma), Cesare Berton (Petrarca Padova), Jacopo Bocchi (Benetton Treviso), Giacomo Brancoli (Livorno Rugby), Saverio Bruni (Mantovani Lazio), Riccardo Cagna (MPS Viadana)
, Guido Calabrese (Gladiatori Sanniti), Vittorio Callori Di Vignale  (Estra I Cavalieri Prato), Mattia Carretta (HBS GranDucato Parma), Tommaso Castello (Banco di San Giorgio Cus Genova), Pietro Ceccarelli (Mantovani Lazio), Cristian Cerioni (MPS Viadana), Federico Conforti (Petrarca Padova), Augusto Cosulich (Benetton Treviso), Matteo Dell'Acqua (Rugby Grande Milano)*, Timi Enodeh (BancaMonteParma Crociati), Lorenzo Favaro (Ruggers Tarvisium), Alessandro Furia (Petrarca Padova), Marco Fuser (Benetton Treviso), Marco Gennari  (BancaMonteParma Crociati), Edoardo Ghiraldini (Petrarca Padova), Amar Kudin (Benetton Treviso), Piermaria Leso (Petrarca Padova) - capitain, Andrea Lupetti (Estra I Cavalieri Prato), Giovanni Maistri (Cammi Calvisano), Alfio Mammana (Amatori Catania), Francesco Menon (Consiel Firenze 1931), Luca Morisi (Rugby Grande Milano), Alex Morsellino (Petrarca Padova), Guglielmo Palazzani (Cammi Calvisano), Nicola Quaglio (Femi-CZ Rovigo), Ruben Riccioli (Mantovani Lazio), Edoardo Ruffolo (BancaMonteParma Crociati), Leonardo Sarto (Petrarca Padova), Alessandro Tartaglia (Mantovani Lazio), Michele Visentin (Benetton Treviso), Guglielmo Zanini (Benetton Treviso).

Not considered due to injury: Maurizio Aluigi (Cammi Calvisano), Matteo Appiani (Cammi Calvisano), Marco Ferrini (Livorno Rugby), Filippo Gerosa (HBS GranDucato Parma), Alvise Faraon (Benetton Treviso).