England squad named for JWC 2012

(IRB.COM) Tuesday 1 May 2012
 England squad named for JWC 2012
Marland Yarde is one of seven players in England's squad who played at JWC 2011

England Under 20 coaches Rob Hunter and Nick Walshe have named their 28-man squad for the IRB Junior World Championship in South Africa.

England's first match in the tournament is against Italy on 4 June, and the squad contains seven players who participated in the 2011 edition of the Junior World Championship.

Koree Britton, Matt Kvesic, Ryan Mills, Dan Robson, Sam Tworney, Ben Ransom and Marland Yarde all return from the 2011 JWC in Italy, the latter ending this year's U20 Six Nations as leading try scorer with five, but IRB Junior Player of the Year George Ford has not been selected.

Ford's absence could suggest he may be on the plane to South Africa with the senior team, whilst another JWC 2011 player to miss out is Elliot Daly.

“Competition for places has been high and some good players have missed out," said England head coach Rob Hunter.

"However we’re very pleased with the 28 selected. The games come thick and fast in this tournament, we’ve got a tough group and we’re excited by that challenge.” 

In 2011 England finished runners-up behind New Zealand and after Italy, Six Nations winners England face Ireland before coming up against hosts South Africa in Stellenbosch, one year after defeating the southern hemisphere nation 26-20 at the same stage.

“We have two huge games before we come up against South Africa," added Hunter.

"But that match stands out for the experience of playing them in front of their home support.

"For now though all our attention is on that first game against Italy, each year they improve and we’ll need to be fully focused."

England Under 20 squad:

Forwards: Dominic Barrow (Leeds Carnegie) Koree Britton (Gloucester Rugby)* Jack Clifford (Harlequins) Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs) Max Crumpton (Saracens) Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks) Alec Hepburn (London Wasps) Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors)* George Merrick (Harlequins) Nathan Morris (London Wasps) Ben Nutley (Northampton Saints) Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins) David Sisi (London Irish) Sam Twomey (Harlequins)* Chris Walker (Leeds Carnegie)

Backs: Will Addison (Sale Sharks) Josh Bassett (Bedford Blues) Tommy Bell (Sale Sharks) Jamie Elliott (Northampton Saints) Tom Heathcote (Bath Rugby) Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs) Ryan Mills (Gloucester Rugby)* Ben Ransom (Saracens)* Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby)* Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) Ben Spencer (Saracens) Charlie Walker (Harlequins) Marland Yarde (London Irish)*

* Played in IRB Junior World Championship 2011