Australia continue preparations for JWC 2013

(IRB.COM) Thursday 14 March 2013
 Australia continue preparations for JWC 2013
Australia Under 20s finished eighth at JWC 2012 in South Africa

Australia Under 20s will continue their preparations for the IRB Junior World Championship 2013 with 53 players attending a four-day selection camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra from Sunday.

Coaches Adrian Thompson and Sean Hedger are keen to give as many players as possible chance to stake a claim for a place in the 28-man squad for the Junior World Championship in north-west France from 5-23 June.

A number of the players attending the camp have been involved in the IRB Pacific Rugby Cup 2013 over the last couple of weeks, playing for either Super Rugby development sides of the Australian Rugby Union National Academy teams based in Sydney and Brisbane.

“In some positions we had a lot of players we wanted to have a look at, so this camp will be almost identical to the last camp but with some different players,” explained Thompson. “The guys will have a couple of rounds of club rugby before the final campa, so they’ve still got time to prove themselves.

“We’re really looking for guys who are willing to work hard because that’s ultimately what the Junior World Championship is all about.

“The first camp was quite good. We worked the players very hard, it was intense and physically demanding and there were certainly some players in attendance that put their hand up for selection.”

Australia recorded their worst ever finish on the Junior World Championship last year in South Africa with eighth and will face four-time champions New Zealand, Fiji and Ireland in Pool B with only the winner guaranteed a place in the semi-finals.

Australia Under 20 squad for selection camp

Allan Alaalatoa, Mark Baldwin, Harrison Boileau, Luke Burton, Declan Carroll, John Cameron, Richard Cooper, Jack Debreczeni, Jack Dempsey, Sam Fattal, Lalakai Foketi, Michael Freeman, Sam Greene, Albert Hemopo, Reece Hodge, David Horwitz, Oliver Hoskins, Chris Ingate, Jack Johnson, Siotame Kavapalu, Jake Kay, Samu Kerevi, Phil Kite, Brad Lacey, Silatolu Latu, Connor Malan, Ofiu Manukeu, Jake McIntyre, Jock  Merriman, Connor Mitchell, Andy Muirhead, Harrison Orr, Harry Parker, Rowan Perry, Matt Philip, John Porch, Oscar Pryor-Lees, Angus Pulver, Sam Reiser, Pat Sio, Moli Sooaemalelagi, TJ Siakisini, Tom Staniforth, Jim Stewart, Corey Thomas, Seio Toleafoa, Kemueli Valentini, Campbell Wakely, Michael Wells, Waldo Wessels, Mitchell Whiteley, Tom Wilson.