Junior World finals: statistically speaking

(IRB.COM) Tuesday 17 June 2014
 Junior World finals: statistically speaking
Fourth time lucky: England celebrate after winning JWC 2013 in France

We bring you some interesting statistics on past finals at the IRB Junior World Championship to whet your appetite for the 2014 decider between defending champions England and 2012 winners South Africa at Eden Park.

* Five teams have reached a Junior World Championship final – New Zealand, England, Australia, South Africa and Wales.

* New Zealand have contested five JWC finals and have a win ratio of 80 per cent. England have lost three of their four JWC finals played to date, while South Africa came out on top in their only previous appearance in the title decider.

* Three teams have lifted the coveted trophy in New Zealand (2008-2011), South Africa (2012) and England (2013).

* The final will be the 230th match in JWC history.

* The six captains to have lifted the coveted trophy are Chris Smith (New Zealand, 2008), Aaron Cruden (New Zealand, 2009), Tyler Bleyendaal (New Zealand, 2010), Luke Whitelock (New Zealand, 2011), Wiaan Liebenberg (South Africa, 2012) and Jack Clifford (England, 2013).

* The 2013 final was the first not to feature New Zealand or, in fact, any southern hemisphere team.

* A total of 323 points have been scored in the six previous finals.

* Thirty-six tries have been scored in finals, all bar 14 of them by four-time champions New Zealand. Twenty-five of these tries – or 69.44 per cent – have been turned into seven pointers.

* The only player to score a hat-trick in a JWC final is Telusa Veainu in New Zealand's 62-17 win over Australia in 2010.

* New Zealand duo Aaron Cruden and Zac Guildford both scored braces in the 2009 final, England wing Christian Wade crossed for two in their 2011 loss to the Baby Blacks and Ashley Evans touched down twice in Wales’ defeat by England in 2013.

* The first player to score a try in a JWC final was New Zealand wing Kade Poki, after 17 minutes of the 2008 title decider with England at the Liberty Stadium in Swansea, Wales.

* The last player to score a try in a final was England centre Sam Hill in their 23-15 victory over Wales in the 2013 final. 

* The fastest try in a JWC final was scored by New Zealand hooker Liam Coltman within the first minute in 2010. 

* By contrast, the longest wait for a try in a JWC final was 34 minutes in 2012, the time it took for New Zealand's Milford Keresoma to dot down at Newlands.

* Thirty players have scored a try in a JWC final to date.

* The first points scored in a JWC final were by New Zealand full back Trent Renata with a penalty after five minutes in 2008.

* Ten is the most tries scored in a JWC final during New Zealand's 44-28 win over England in 2009. The Baby Blacks scored seven of them.

* The winning team has scored the most tries in every final bar two. England and New Zealand both scored three tries in the 2011 final, while England and Wales each crossed the line twice in 2013. 

* The most points scored in a single JWC final is 79 in New Zealand's scintillating 62-17 defeat of Australia in 2010.

* The fewest points scored by any team in a JWC final are the three England managed against New Zealand in the inaugural final in 2008.

* Dave Rennie is the most successful coach in JWC final history, overseeing New Zealand's first three titles between 2008 and 2010.

* Four players have won more than one JWC winners' medals: Zac Guildford (2008/2009), Willie Ioane (2009/2010), Luke Whitelock and Glen Robertson (2010/2011).

* The top point scorer in a JWC final is Tyler Bleyendaal, the New Zealand captain in 2010 contributing 28 points to their cause in the 62-17 win over Australia.

* There have also been 30 penalties kicked with the most in a single final being six in both 2010 and 2012.

* The only person to slot a drop goal between the posts in a JWC final is South Africa fly half Handrè Pollard in 2012.

* There have been three red cards and four yellow cards in JWC finals. Two of the red cards came last year with New Zealand's Ofa Tu'ungafasi and South African Paul Willemse dismissed just before the hour mark. The other red came in the inaugural final in 2008 when England's Calum Clark saw red.