IRB announces match officials

(IRB.COM) Tuesday 26 March 2013
 IRB announces match officials
Chris Pollock will take charge of the first Test between the Lions and Australia in Brisbane

The International Rugby Board has announced the appointment of match officials for the 2013 British and Irish Lions tour to Hong Kong and Australia, which begins on June 1 and concludes on July 6.

Appointments were made by the IRB Match Official Selection Committee following a comprehensive review of performances during the recent RBS 6 Nations and other fixtures.

New Zealand’s Chris Pollock, South Africa’s Craig Joubert and France’s Romain Poite will take charge of the three Test matches. Pollock will referee the first Test in Brisbane on June 22, with Joubert refereeing the second Test in Melbourne on June 29 and Poite the final Test in Sydney on July 6.

Other referees who will take charge of matches during the tour include Steve Walsh (ARU) who has been appointed to the tour opener between the Lions and the Barbarians in Hong Kong, Glen Jackson (NZRU), Jaco Peyper (SARU) and Jérôme Garcès (FFR).

Meanwhile, the IRB has announced the appointment of Emirates-sponsored match officials for the IRB Pacific Nations Cup 2013 and June internationals. Australia's Angus Gardner will take charge of the first game in this year’s IRB Pacific Nations Cup in a match between Japan and Tonga in Yokahama on May 25.

The full list of referees for the IRB Pacific Nations Cup 2013 is: JP Doyle (RFU), Angus Gardner (ARU), Greg Garner (RFU), Francisco Pastrana (UAR), Jonathon White (NZRU) and Garratt Williamson (NZRU).
In what is an exceptionally busy period of international Rugby, reflecting the growing opportunities for tier two and three Unions to play in high quality fixtures, the selection panel has also appointed referees for a raft of other Test matches during the June international window.

The full list of referees appointed to these other Test matches is: Wayne Barnes (RFU), George Clancy (IRFU), Greg Garner (RFU), Pascal Gauzere (FFR), Leighton Hodges (WRU), Craig Joubert (SARU), John Lacey (IRFU), Lourens van der Merwe (SARU), Nigel Owens (WRU), Francisco Pastrana (UAR), Romain Poite (FFR), Chris Pollock (NZRU) and Alain Rolland (IRFU).


IRB Match Official Selection Committee Chairman, IRB Council Member and former Scotland and British and Irish Lions flanker John Jeffery said: "The British and Irish Lions tour will be one of the highlights of 2013 as far as international Rugby is concerned and looks set to be another hard-fought and compelling series.”

“The IRB is committed to promoting the very best refereeing standards at the elite level of the Game. The continued priority is the promotion of consistency and performance and following a comprehensive selection process, the committee has appointed three highly experienced match referees for the Test series.”

The selection system allows for movement in and out of the panel based on form and rewards the top performers and young referees who have graduated through the performance pathway ahead of Rugby World Cup 2015 in England.

Each referee performance in every international match is reviewed in minute detail, both by an independent assessor and by the referee himself. All performances are then used by the selectors as a basis for choosing the right match officials for the next round of Test matches.