Uganda claim CAR title

(Rugby News Service) Sunday 30 September 2007
By Eric Odanga
From Antananarivo, Madagascar
 Uganda claim CAR title
Action from the final between Uganda and Madagascar Photo: FMR

Uganda are the new CAR Africa Cup champions. They defeated hosts Madagascar 42-11 in the final on Saturday 29 September at Antananarivo's Mahamasina Stadium.

Kenya overcame Cote d'Ivoire 20-17 in the play-off for third place.

Uganda 42 Madagascar 11

Uganda weathered early pressure from Madagascar before settling and giving the hosts a simple lesson in basic rucks and mauls, which the Islanders had no answer to. Madagascar tried to play their running game but came unstuck against a solid Uganda side, which had trained in South Africa for one week before the final.

Scrum half Anthony Kinene kicked over a penalty for Uganda in the first minute. When Madagascar's scrum half Bayard Ninirina-Jacques was sent to the sin bin by South African referee Willie Roos, they fought back and leveled in the 13th minute through a penalty by Rakotondrazaka Fenohery.

Kinene broke the deadlock in the 18th minute but Rakotondrazaka again leveled for Madagascar in the 26th minute with his second attempt after missing an earlier one which was within range.

Uganda take control

This is when Uganda stepped up the pace and began to dominate in the forwards. Victor Wadia plucked the ball from the lineout and the forwards drove the ‘Makis’ back for Robert Sseguya to ground the ball. Kinene was sure for Uganda to lead 13-6.

Confidence oozed from the ‘Cranes’ who denied Madagascar running ball and muscled them in the lineouts, stealing valuable possession. Edmond Tumusiime was next over in the 36th minute after another clean catch by Wadia in the lineout. Kinene added two points to stretch the lead 20-6.

An expected comeback by Makis was in the offing when they recycled the ball well in their characteristic style and Rakotondranzaka went over as Uganda led 20-11 at half time.

Drop goal stretches Uganda lead

Ten minutes after the resumption, Tumusiime put over a drop goal to silence the near 35,000 capacity crowd.

When Allan Musoke sped to the line in the 60th minute after a good spell by Madagascar, the writing was on the wall as the 28-11 lead presented a Herculean task for Madagascar.

Two more tries by Mathias Ochwo and Kinene completed the rout. Kinene converted both tries.

Post-match reaction

Coach Yayiro Kasasa attributed the win to a structured approach. "We developed a structure which worked well.

“The players were awesome in defence and disciplined especially after missing out the captain Adrian Bukenya [who was injured]," Kasasa acknowledged.

David Dobela, the Uganda Rugby Union technical director said the win came from hard work by the technical bench and a willingness to learn by the players. "We could not have done it without great support from the people of Uganda," he added.


Uganda 42 Madagascar 11
Half time 20-11



Tries: Robert Sseguya, Edmond Tumusiime, Allan Musoke, Ronald Mwisaka, Mathias Ochwo.
Penalties: Anthony Kinene (5)
Conversions: Kinene (3)

Penalties: Rakotondrazaka Fenohery,
Conversion: Rakotondrazaka Fenohery
Yellow card: Bayard Nirina Jacquis (5th minute), Rakotonirina Andriamarinjara (59th)

Line ups


15 John Musoke (Dennis Etuket), 14 Allan Musoke (Brian Tabaruka), 13 Timothy Mudoola, 12 Tony Luggya, 11 Bonny Morro (Felix Lubega), 10 Edmond Tumusiime, 9 Anthony Kinene (Allan Masiko), 8 Moses Soita, 7 Mathias Ochwo, 6 Robert Sseguya, 5 Ronald Mwisaka (Joel Anguyo), 4 Victor Wadia (Roger Rukundo),
3 Kenneth Mutabaruka (Solomon Mawanda), 2 Alex Mubiru,
1 Ronald Adigasi. Reserves: 16 Solomon Mawanda, 17 Roger Rukundo, 18 Joel Anguyo, 19 Dennis Etuket, 20 Allan Masiko, 21 Felix Lubega, 22 Brian Tabaruka.

Coach: Yayiro Kasasa. 

15 Rakotondrazaka Fenohery, 14 Rakotonirina Alain, 13 Andrianavalona Bienvenue M, 12 Rakotoarivelo Moazafy Noe (captain), 11 Harinirina Jacquot (Emilson Haja Jean Charles), 10 Rakotoarisoa Sidonie, 9 Bayard Nirina Jacquis, 8 Rakotozanany Antonio (Rabearilala Toussaint Boniface), 6 Rakotonirina Jean de Dieu, 5 Randrianarisoa Tahiana Herizo, 4 Ramaromiantso Tolotra Ratsimba, 3 Rasedinah Jean Andre (Rabemananjara Dimbiniaina), 2 Andrianjaka Chestian JeanFelix (Roger Rukundo), 1 Randrianiaina Ibrahim. Reserves: 16 Rakotomanga Elyse Pierre, 17 Rabemananjara Dimbiniaina, 18 Rakotoniaina Andre, 19 Rabearilala Toussaint Boniface, 20 Randrianatenaina Berthin, 21 Rakotoarivelo Benjaniaina, 22 Emilson Haja Jean Charles.

Coach: Bertin Zoto

Referee: Willie Roos (South Africa), TJ1 Pro Legoete (South Africa), TJ2 Jacobus Labouchagne Match Commissioner: Sas Bailey (South Africa)