Rugby ready to feature at Maccabiah Games

(IRB.COM) Saturday 11 July 2009

 Rugby ready to feature at Maccabiah Games
Israel, USA, Canada, Great Britain, Australia, South Africa and Chile are competing for rugby Gold at the Maccabiah Games

Rugby will further showcase its multisport games credentials at the Wingate Stadium in Netanya, Israel from 12-22 July, when seven nations compete in the sport's tournament at the 18th Maccabiah Games.

Hosts Israel will compete against USA, Canada, Australia, Great Britain, South Africa and Chile for a rare 15-a-side multisport gold medal.

Unlike the two-day Sevens tournament model employed at the Commonwealth Games and other multisport events around the round, the 15-a-side format will be played over five match days.

Hosts Israel face Chile on the opening day, Sunday 12 July, while the USA take on Canada and Great Britain face Australia.

Full rugby schedule

Israel - Chile
USA - Canada
Great Britain - Australia

Great Britain - South Africa

South Africa - Australia
Israel - Canada
USA - Chile

Two semi finals and play-off

Final and placing matches

The Maccabiah Games is the international Jewish multisport event held every four years under the auspices of the Maccabi Federation.

In 2009 it features 31 sports including basketball, cricket, golf, swimming, football, tennis and athletics.

For more information and results go to the tournament's official website