Argentina Jaguars name squad for ARC

(IRB.COM) Wednesday 23 September 2009
 Argentina Jaguars name squad for ARC
Martin Bustos Moyano's brace helped Argentina upset South Africa at RWC Sevens 2009

Argentina Jaguars coaches Mauricio Reggiardo and Alejandro Molineuvo have selected their 26-man squad to play in both the Americas Rugby Championship and a one-off match with Canada A next month.

The Jaguars enter the Americas Rugby Championship at the semi final stage, where they will meet USA Selects on 10 October at Glendale Infinity Park for the right to face one of the Canadian provincial teams in the final a week later in Toronto.

Reggiardo, who was capped 50 times by the Pumas, and Molineuvo have named a blend of players to have featured for the Jaguars in the Churchill Cup this summer, the Argentina Under 20s in the IRB TOSHIBA Junior World Championship and others who have played in the IRB Sevens World Series.

Hooker Agustín Creevy captained the Jaguars to Plate success in the Churchill Cup on American soil in June with Carlos José Cáceres, Francisco Cubelli and Benjamín Urdapilleta also having played in the six-team tournament won by Ireland A.

Urdapilleta has also represented Argentina on the IRB Sevens World Series, while Horacio Alberto San Martín and Martin Bustos Moyano were part of the Pumas squad were runners-up at Rugby World Cup Sevens 2009 in March.

Blend of players

Bustos Moyano was a key player for Argentina in that tournament in Dubai, scoring the two tries in the Cup quarter final which saw off South Africa 14-12 and then another in the semi final defeat of Kenya before the Pumas lost to Wales 19-12 in the final.

The Jaguars, Argentina's second string, will also give five youngsters the chance to step up from the side that finished 11th at the IRB TOSHIBA Junior World Championship, including Santiago Guzmán who captained that Under 20 side.

Other members of that Pumitas squad in Japan that will play for the Jaguars next month are Guzmán's fellow forward Rodrigo Báez, scrum half Tomás Cubelli, centre Joaquin Luchetti and Joaquin Tuculet.

The Americas Rugby Championship was introduced this year, replacing the IRB North America 4, with the intention of providing a competitive platform between domestic and international rugby.

The Championship is already underway with four Canadian provincial sides - BC Bears, The Rock, the Prairie Wolf Pack and Ontario Blues - playing in a round robin to determine the two sides who will progress to the semi finals.

Argentina Jaguars squad

Forwards: Rodrigo Báez, César Felipe Bettoli, Esteban Bustillo, Maximiliano Bustos, Carlos José Cáceres, Agustín Creevy, Matías Narváez, Mariano Galarza, Santiago Nicolás Guzmán, Federico Merlo, Hugo Schierano, Leonardo Senatore.

Backs: Lucas Barrera Oro, Martin Bustos Moyano, Dino Cáceres, Francisco Cubelli, Tomás Cubelli, Alvaro Fulco, Juan José Imhoff, Joaquin Luchetti, Paolo Mac, Horacio Alberto San Martín, Federico Nicolás Sánchez, Joaquin Tuculet, Benjamín Urdapilleta.