Ghana hosts North West Africa women's Sevens

(IRB.COM) Wednesday 3 June 2009
 Ghana hosts North West Africa women's Sevens
Ghana and the other nations in Accra are vying to emulate Uganda and South Africa, who competed at this year's Rugby World Cup Sevens

The El Wak Stadium in Accra, Ghana is set to welcome eight nations this weekend for a historic first ever North West Africa Women's Rugby Sevens.

Hosts Ghana will play alongside Togo, Tunisia, Nigeria, Cote d'Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Morocco and Egypt over two days.

The teams are split into two pools, Ghana, Tunisia, Ivory Coast and Burkina Faso in Pool A and Nigeria, Togo, Egypt and Morocco in Pool B.

"All the teams are expected in the country by the close of play Thursday and preparations have been made to adequately host them," said Gifty Annan-Myers, Chairperson of the Ghana Rugby Association (GRA), which is hoping that the tournament can pave the way for the further development of the sport in the country.

"We want to popularise rugby in Ghana, so it is very important that this is a successful tournament," added Annan-Myers.

"We have received the necessary support from the International Rugby Board and the National Sports Council, so a huge amount of work has been done to ensure the successful organisation of the event."

North West Africa Women's Rugby Sevens, Accra, Ghana, 6-7 June

Pool A
Ivory Coast
Burkina Faso

Pool B