Australia women win Asia Pacific Sevens

(IRB.COM) Monday 3 September 2012
 Australia women win Asia Pacific Sevens
Rebecca Tavo scored one of four Australian tries in the final

The Australia women’s Sevens won the Asia Pacific Women’s Sevens Championship in Borneo at the weekend with a 36-17 victory against Japan.
Having recently finished second to New Zealand at the Oceania Women's Sevens Championship in Fiji, this was another demonstration of Chris Lane's side's continued improvement.

“That just showed the real Australian character, the true Aussie spirit that I asked for before the start of the game," said head coach Lane.
"The standard of the tournament has been very competitive, and the standard of Asian rugby has been impressive, particularly the work ethic of all the teams.
“We had two big wins on our first day but the girls said that the opposition just never stopped trying. Japan beat us in the first round (14-10) and we are very grateful for the chance for some revenge."
The Australians emerged from pool play with three wins and that loss to Japan, after beating Chinese Taipei 59-0, Singapore 50-0 and Kazakhstan 12-0.
In the semi final the reigning Women's Rugby World Cup Sevens champions beat Papua New Guinea 12-7 before proving too strong for Japan in the final as Rebecca Tavo, Gemma Etheridge, Sharni Williams and Cobie-Jane Morgan all crossed for tries.

Their focus now shifts to a number of training camps, the upcoming Noosa Sevens and Paradise Sevens tournaments and looking ahead to the challenge of defending their title at next year's Rugby World Cup Sevens in Russia.

Japan beat Hong Kong in the other semi final, while Asia's number one and two Sevens sides, China and Kazakhstan, were left battling for the Plate, which the latter won 29-14.
After losing the Cup semi final to Japan, Hong Kong lost to 2011 Asia Pacific Women’s Sevens champions Papua New Guinea 26-17 in the third place play-off.

Final standing results

Final: Japan 17-36 Australia
Third place play-off: Hong Kong 17-26 Papua New Guinea
Fifth place play-off: Kazakhstan 29-14 China
Seventh place play-off:Thailand 12-24 Chinese Taipei
Ninth place play-off: Korea 0-29 Singapore