Black Ferns triumph in historic match

(IRB.COM) Monday 15 July 2013
 Black Ferns triumph in historic match
Renee Wickliffe in action during the 1000th women's Test match

The Black Ferns defeated England 29-10 in the 1000th Women's Test match, the first match in a three-Test series between these two sides.

Being played at Eden Park, Auckland, the hosts scored three tries to England's one, including one from Portia Woodman who was playing in her debut, and the result was New Zealand's first win over England in seven outings.

31 years after the first Test was played between the Netherlands and France, the match was a fitting encounter for the occasion and the deadlock was not broken until the 14th minute from the boot of IRB Women's Sevens Player of the Year nominee Kelly Brazier. 

Woodman, who starred at the recent Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow, scored on her debut to extend the hosts lead, but Marlie Packer scored for England on the half hour mark as the sides went into half time at 8-7.

Emily Scarratt, another nominee for the first-ever IRB Women's Sevens award, and Brazier traded penalties, and with less than 10 minutes remaining the winning-streak was still in sight for England as they trailed 11-10, looking for their first win in New Zealand since 2001. 

But another Brazier penalty, who scored 16 points in the match, and two quick-fire tries from Amiria Rule and Justine Lavea ensured the hosts recorded the victory on the landmark occasion.

Squads for second Test:

Black Ferns: 1. Ruth McKay 2. Fiao’o Faamausili 3. Melodie Bosman 4. Jackie Patea 5. Vita Dryden 6. Rawinia Everitt 7. Justine Lavea 8. Casey Robertson 9. Emma Jensen 10. Kelly Brazier 11. Renee Wickliffe 12. Amiria Rule 13. Claire Richardson 14. Selica Winiata, 15. Victoria Grant

England: 15. Kay Wilson 14. Francesca Matthews 13. Emily Scarratt 12 Rachael Burford 11.), Michaela Staniford 10. Katy Mclean 9. Natasha Hunt 1. Laura Keates 2. Victoria Fleetwood 3. Sophie Hemming 4. Joanne McGilchrist 5. Emily Braund 6. Sarah Hunter , 7. Marlie Packer 8. Harriet Millar-Mill

Remaining matches:

New Zealand v England, Tuesday July 16, KO 8am BST, Waikato Stadium
New Zealand v England, Saturday July 20, KO 335am BST, ECOLight Stadium.