Eight nations gear up for World Games gold

(IRB.COM) Wednesday 24 July 2013
 Eight nations gear up for World Games gold
Kyle Brown continues his comeback from injury in Cali after competing at the RWC Sevens in Moscow

South Africa's Springbok Sevens, who won three of the nine rounds on the last HSBC Sevens World Series, are set to join seven other national teams when they travel to Cali, Colombia this week to participate in the 2013 World Games.

It is the first time that the World Games, which features over 4,000 athletes from 120 countries, have been staged in South America and the last featuring Rugby Sevens, now that the sport has joined the Olympic family ahead of the Rio Games in 2016.

The World Games begin on 25 July and end on 4 August with the Rugby Sevens to be played on 1-2 August in the Pascual Guerrero Stadium.

The eight nations set to compete are World Series core teams Argentina, Canada, France and South Africa as well as Asian champions Hong Kong, Olympic hosts Brazil, tournament hosts Colombia and the Teros of Uruguay.

“There will be no dropping of our standards, there’s a job to be done and we want to bring back gold for South Africa," said former Bok playmaker Vuyo Zangqa, who steps up from assistant coach to head coach for the tournament.

"We all know that this is an important step in the build-up to the Commonwealth Games next year and then the 2016 Olympics.”

Four years ago in Taiwan South Africa claimed the bronze medal. This year they name a strong side featuring the likes of Cornal Hendricks, Seabelo Senatla and Stephan Dippenaar and captained by Kyle Brown, who returned from injury for the recent World Cup in Moscow.

South Africa squad: Jamba Ulengo, Bernado Botha, Werner Kok, Kyle Brown, Reuben Johannes, Willem Strydom, Stephan Dippenaar, Mark Richards, Seabelo Senatla, Steven Hunt, Ruwellyn Isbell, Cornal Hendricks.

Pool A
South Africa
Hong Kong

Pool B